The Art of Being Normal, by Lisa Williamson

I would like to thank Macmillan Children’s Publishing Groups and NetGalley for the opportunity to read this book.

5/5 stars

I was wowed by this book about a transgender teen, David, who is just trying to find the way to be who he really is, and navigate the maze that is being a teenager.

I have no personal experience with being close to anyone who is transgender, but I was once a teenager, and I know how they are. And as far as that aspect goes, Ms. Williamson is spot on. I found all the characters in this book to be believable and while not always likable, if I disliked them, it only made the experience more genuine.

I feel like this book is very timely, with what is going on in America right now. I believe that people need to be treated equally, and I think that people need to read this book to see the other side of the situation. To see just who they think the bad guy is in the situation. Because the bad guy is not threatening at all, and is just trying to live a normal life, which I think is all that anyone wants.

I highly recommend this book, both as a conversation starter, and as a great book in its own right.

I was given a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own, and I am never compensated monetarily for my reviews.

Leave a Reply

