The “L” Stands for Liquid…

“Each crewman had their own laptop. So I have six at my disposal. Rather, I had six. Now I have five. I thought a laptop would be fine outside. It’s just electronics, right? It’ll keep warm enough to operate in the short term, and it doesn’t need air for anything.

It died instantly. The screen went black before I was out of the airlock. Turns out the “L” in “LCD” stands for “Liquid.” I guess it either froze or boiled off. Maybe I’ll post a consumer review. ‘Brought product to surface of Mars. It stopped working. 0/10.'”

~The Martian, by Andy Weir

This popped up in my Facebook “On This Day” memories from last year, when I was reading this book. I really enjoy that feature on Facebook, because it brings back to mind the things I was doing, thinking and reading in the past. Often, I write my thoughts down, and then I don’t look back on them again unless they are brought to the forefront somehow…even if it’s a year later.

I really enjoyed this book, and in fact, reading this quote makes me want to re-read it. However, I don’t often have a lot of time for re-reads. Between NetGalley books, library books and my own personal library of books. I tend to have 2 or 3 books going at a time that I’m juggling. Not that I’m complaining, of course, about having books to read… 🙂

Leave a Reply

