Review: Britt-Marie Was Here, by Fredrik Backman

5/5 stars

This is a book with the most incredible character growth of any book I have ever read. Britt-Marie starts out kind of on the same annoyance scale as nails on a chalkboard, but quickly grew on me, until by the end I was getting emotional over what was going on with her. And I connected with her on a level that I did not expect when I started the book.

The story and the characters in this book are written with an affection that really shows deeply in the book. This town and these characters must be extremely close to Mr. Backman’s heart, because even the less than nice characters show the results of the aforementioned affection.

Soccer plays a big hand in this book too, but surprisingly, not in an annoying, overwhelming way. To be honest, by the end of the book, I was getting pretty excited over a soccer match, which is not something I think I have ever done. For a couple of minutes I even toyed with the idea of trying to WATCH soccer too. The book was right…soccer does demand to be loved.

I highly recommend this book. I laughed…I literally cried…I connected on a deep level with the characters and I rode the roller coaster of emotions that the book made me feel, and enjoyed every minute of the ride. And I definitely wasn’t ready for the book to be over, but I feel immensely satisfied by the experience.

Leave a Reply

