Review: The Rosie Project, by Graeme Simsion

1/5 stars

I think I must be one of the few people who has ever read this book who did not like it, because this book has a 4-star average on Goodreads. And if you are familiar with Goodreads at all, you would know that 4-stars is pretty darn good for an average.

I simply do not particularly like the characters in this book, and I do not care to read about them or their thought processes or issues for one more minute, because it feels like an utter waste of my time. And when reading feels like that, rather than an enjoyable past-time, it is time to move on to the next book.

I tried to like this book. I gave it to exactly 50% before I threw in the towel, because I kept thinking it would get more enjoyable. But Rosie is really the only character I do like, and she plays such a small role in the book, relatively, that she’s not enough to keep me hanging on. Don should keep me entertained, because my first thought upon starting this book was that he reminds me of Sheldon from The Big Bang Theory on TV, but despite thinking this the whole way through, I simply cannot connect with him and find him a likable character.

And then there is Gene. I honestly don’t know that I’ve gotten the whole story behind Gene, because I’m only 50% through the book, but I find him vile. I find him so vile he is, frankly, a big factor in why I’m not continuing on with the book. If I had to figure it, I’d say he’s 50% of why I’m not continuing on.

Obviously I am missing something charming about this book, but right now I simply cannot see what that something is. And some books are like that. Despite being wildly popular, sometimes they just don’t connect on that level with everyone, and that is okay. That is why there is such a huge selection of books, and that is why it is such a great thing that we don’t HAVE to finish anything we start reading.

Perhaps someday I’ll come back to this and give it another shot. But for now, it’s just not a winner for me.

Leave a Reply

