The Secret Language of Stones, by M.J. Rose

I would like to thank Atria Books and NetGalley for the opportunity to read this book.

5/5 stars

I read the first book in this series, The Witch of Painted Sorrows, when it first came out on NetGalley as well, and loved it. So when book 2 came available, I was really excited, and requested it. And when I started reading it, I could hardly put it down. This book follows Opaline, the daughter of Sandrine from Painted Sorrows. Opaline is able to hear the voices of the dead in stones, and makes mourning jewelry for the mothers of the dead soldiers there in Paris.

While I guessed easily the “twist” at the end, I still sped through the book to try and make sure I was right. The writing in the book lends itself to reading like that too. It is paced nicely, and exciting enough that I didn’t want to put the book down unless I had to. And there is just enough romance to fit in with the general theme of the series, but not nearly as much as in book 1, which is good, I think, considering the nature of this one.

If you haven’t read this series, I recommend it so long as you are okay with descriptions of a sexual nature. Again, there is not so much of that in book 2, but it is still there. And, probably you could just dive right in to book 2 if you wanted to. But if you’re like me, you’d want all the back story, and would want to start with book 1.

I was given a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own, and I am never compensated monetarily for my reviews.

Leave a Reply

