Review: Machinations, by Hayley Stone

3/5 stars

I would like to thank NetGalley and Random House Publishing Group – Hydra for the opportunity to read this book.

One thing I found out the hard way after reading this book is that I am now a little bit paranoid about a machine uprising. I was out one night playing Pokemon Go with some friends, and one of them had brought out their new drone to play with. It’s a neat piece of equipment…that just so happens to have two glowing red lights on the front that in the growing dark of night look an awful lot like eyes. Right in the middle of reading a book about an uprising of robots, that is not really the kind of thing you want to see. You see, my rational brain knew that it was being controlled by my friend, and that she was a safe person, in perfect control of the drone. The part of my brain that reads a lot of books and was still immersed in the fictional world of Machinations was completely paranoid.

Yes, I am only giving this 3 stars, but that is because it didn’t make me want to do nothing else but read. And because sometimes Rhona felt a little too unreal to me. She seemed a little too effective sometimes as a leader, and I was unable to believe in her completely.

I still think that the fact that the book stuck with me like it did, though, speaks volumes about it. The idea and the story were quite effective for me, and I definitely will be reading the second book. The idea of robots and machines taking over the world is not a new idea, for sure, but it sparked my imagination enough with this hardy group of people living under ground fighting for their lives against these machines that I want to know more. I want to know if they beat them. I want to know more about the characters that we get to know in this book, because aside from Rhona, the characters were pretty likable.

I may only be giving this book 3 out of 5 stars, but  I do recommend giving it a try if you are interested in this kind of story. It may resonate more with you than it did with me, and be just what you are looking for this summer.

I received a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own, and I am never compensated monetarily for my reviews.

Leave a Reply

