Review: Strangers Among Us: Tales of the Underdogs and Outcasts

I would like to thank Laksa Media Groups and NetGalley for the opportunity to read this book.

I am so impressed with this book. Not every story was an easy read, and in fact a couple of them were downright uncomfortable to read. But all of them were eye-opening and thought-provoking, which I think was part of the aim of this book.

The idea of these stories was to explore that area between mental health and mental illness…and how society defines those things. In some stories, that area is more gray than in others.

My favorite story out of the anthology was “The Intersection” by Lorina Stephens. I found this story to be the sweetest out of the whole book. Not the most lighthearted, but definitely not the darkest by far. Some of the stories in the book are rather dark in nature. “The Intersection” was the story that I was able to relate to the most out of all the stories in the book. I rather lost hope of actually relating to any of the stories after awhile, and just settled for enjoying them, so it was a pleasant surprise to find that this one I really connected with on that level.

A portion of the net revenue of this book will go to the Canadian Mental Health Association. And because this book deals so heavily with mental illness, there is a very thorough section in the back of the book that has mental health resources for not only Canada, but also the United States as well as Ireland, the UK, Australia, and New Zealand.

There is probably quite a bit in this book that has the potential to be triggering. The stories really pull no punches, but personally, I appreciate that. Mental illness pulls no punches either, so it’s pretty fitting.

I was given a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own, and I am never compensated monetarily for my reviews.

 

Leave a Reply

