Review: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

Can I just start by saying that my mind is now positively blown by how much I DID NOT know for back stories before now. I know I say this over and over, but they REALLY left a ton of stuff out of the movie for Goblet of Fire. And while you don’t miss it if you don’t know better, when you find out that there’s all this other information, it’s just like…whoa!!!! I don’t want to spoil anything for the maybe one or two people who are like me and haven’t gotten around to reading the books yet, but holy cow…a couple of the pieces of information revealed about important characters in this book were REALLY important, I think.

I really spent a good part of this book thinking I wasn’t that impressed with it, because it was just kind of dragging a bit for me. And then I got to right about 50%, and things started happening, and all of a sudden, I didn’t want to put it down. Which was really unfortunate for me, because I stayed the night away from home…and left my Kindle behind on accident. Luckily it was only 1 night, but I was at 75% at that point, and things were really getting really good, and while I know from the movies what happens, I just NEEDED to know what happens in the book, too.

I have to say, this is the first time that I have read a book where I have seen the movie first, and really still been truly excited to read the book still. And that feeling applies to the whole series, because my feeling of excitement just gets more intense with each of the books that I read.

Still, I’m giving this one 4 out of 5 stars because it did take until right at the halfway point to really get me to where I was that excited.

2 thoughts on “Review: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

  1. There is definitely a lot left out of the movie adaptation of this book and I think a lot of that is due to the immense amount of character development and backstory that is present in the book. I agree that the pacing falters a bit in this one but there is a lot of information necessary for the following books. Great review!

    If you’re interested, I reviewed this book as well a few months ago.
    https://thepastduebookreview.com/2016/05/26/harry-potter-book-4-review/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I saw all the movies fist and then read the books. Its been a couple of year but it’s on my list to read next year. I have a few favorite series I read every few years because their so good. The Harry Potter series is one of them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

