Monster Science, by Helaine Becker

I would like to thank Kids Can Press and NetGalley for the opportunity to read this book.

This is an excellent book for inquiring kids who love monsters…and their parents, for that matter. This book will NOT tell you that Frankenstein, Dracula, or the Loch Ness Monster exist. However, it will give the reader TONS of quick, interesting science facts covering everything from the plague to real life “monsters” that live way, way under the sea.

There were some facts in this book that I knew, but I am an adult. I did learn a lot of interesting things I did not know already, too, though. Each page in this book covers something new related to the monster that is being discussed. Each monster is discussed in sections, and I found the way that the book was broken up to be very smooth. Overall, a nice, quick read. And for kids, especially, the quick procession from fact to fact should keep them from getting bored with the book.

There is definitely more scientific fact than monster fiction in this book, so perhaps not the best book if you’re looking for a scary read. But if you want to know some really interesting things, then this is the book for you. I, personally, really enjoyed myself, and I am really happy that I got a chance to read this book.

I was given a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own, and I am never monetarily compensated for my reviews.

Leave a Reply

