Review: The Graveyard Book, by Neil Gaiman

Since this was my first Neil Gaiman book, and I have heard nothing but great things about this man’s writing, I had extremely high expectations for this book. Thankfully, I was not let down by this book, and I gave it 4 out of 5 stars.

I have a special place in my heart for books that just pulse with magic as you read them. The Graveyard Book was pretty magical to me, though in a very dark way that I was not expecting. Mr. Gaiman definitely walked a fine line in this book and balanced the darkness with the magic in such a way that it mostly didn’t feel too heavy, and instead was quite entertaining. However, there were moments in this book that definitely make me question its classification as a children’s book. Though Bod is quite young for most of the book, I think it would be better suited to a young adult audience, or at least perhaps read in a buddy-read setting with parents if children are to be reading it, as it deals with the murders of his whole immediate family, and then ends up with him living in a graveyard.

Because I am reading this for my Halloween Bingo challenge, this book fit right in, because it was a bit spooky, which was not something I expected either, especially since this is a children’s book. I did not expect the book to be able to give me, as an adult, the chills, but it did just enough to make me jump at loud sounds as I was reading, so that was pretty exciting.

Because this is a children’s book, I did find it to be a bit predictable, but I’m not necessarily sure that all children would figure it out ahead of time. Being able to figure it out ahead of time, though, did not really ruin it for me, as that was only one aspect of the ending.

 

Leave a Reply

