Review: Counterpart, by Hayley Stone

I would like to thank Hydra and NetGalley for the opportunity to read this book.

Counterpart is book 2 in the Machinations series, which started out with Machinations. 

I was only slightly more impressed with book two than I was with the first book. There is definitely a lot of action in Counterpart, and there was character growth and suspense in the story line, ending with me wanting to know, once again, what happens to Rhona and the rest of humanity in the next book.

However, despite finding myself at the end of the book wanting to know what happens to the characters in the following books, there were times throughout the book where I found myself just not caring much at all about what was happening in the moment. Quite often there were too many details, or the details were kind of obscure, and I just would find myself zoning out, despite very much wanting to like the book.

I really, really enjoy the characters in this series, so I am pretty bummed that I didn’t enjoy the book more than I did. I think that I probably would read on in the series, if only to find out what ultimately happens to the characters.

I was given a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own, and I am never compensated for my reviews.

 

Leave a Reply

