Review: Dancers After Dark, by Jordan Matter

I would like to thank Workman Publishing Company and NetGalley for the opportunity to read this book.

5/5 stars

This exquisite book features nude dancers at various times of night, in various cities, in various poses. This book is full of examples of the very definition of the human body as art. The dancers are featured in snow, in icy water, in the rain, and in some where it is impossible to determine whether it was warm or cold. One has to admire their dedication to art in order to endure conditions such as freezing cold in the nude (with bare feet even) in order to be photographed at night, when it is even more chilly than during the day.

Flipping through this book, I was in awe of many things in the photographs. In each photograph, the dancers are the main attraction, but the photographer also captured the beauty of their surroundings as well. Sometimes the background was just as beautiful to look at as the forms of the dancers. And the forms of the dancers were gorgeous – all glowing skin over toned muscle and grace. Sometimes I would pause on a photograph and just look at how the light was captured on a dancer’s skin.

I am not a big fan of owning coffee table books, because I feel like they would get ignored a lot. But this is a book I would love to own. I greatly appreciate wonderful photography, and this is some of the best I have ever seen. I am sure that there were a great many challenges to shooting these photographs in the dark and the cold (in many cases), but you cannot tell that there were ANY challenges whatsoever when looking at these beautiful pictures. They look as if they were taken with ease, which makes me appreciate them all the more.

I was given a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own, and I am never monetarily compensated for my reviews.

Leave a Reply

