Review: Arena, by Holly Jennings

I would like to thank Berkley Publishing Group and NetGalley for the opportunity to read this book.

I’m a little bit thrilled by this book, because I feel like I saw a little bit of what the future of gaming could potentially be, and it’s a little bit exciting and scary all at the same time. Right now, we already have VR (Virtual Reality) gaming, which is something I, personally, have not even experienced yet. But this book is all about a future in which Immersive Virtual Reality gaming is the thing. And the top players play “classic” console games from our time to help them relax in their downtime.

There is, of course, a lot more meat to the story than that. We spend the book following Kali and her team through the Virtual Gaming League RAGE Championship to see who can be the best team of RAGE gamers in the tournament. Along the way they face challenges, and it’s how they face those challenges that will either lead them to victory or send them crashing down into defeat.

Overall, an enjoyable read, and I am really glad that I invested my time in this book. I look forward to reading book 2, Gauntlet.

I was given a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own, and I am never compensated for my reviews.

Leave a Reply

