Review: The Other Einstein, by Marie Benedict

I would like to thank Sourcebooks Landmark and NetGalley for the opportunity to read this book.

Can I just say how much I loved this book. This is definitely one of my favorite books of 2016.

The Other Einstein is, obviously, more about Albert Einstein’s first wife, Mileva “Mitza” Maric, more than it is about Albert. But, it was also shed rather a lot of light about what life must have been like with this famous man.

First off, let me say that while this book was clearly meticulously researched, it is still fiction, and some of the gaps were filled in with fictional details. I was drawn right into the pages of this book, though, and I felt like I was there with them, watching them become friends and lovers and then husband and wife.

I found Mitza to be absolutely wonderful. She was VERY human, and I found myself wondering how differently things could have looked for her, if things had just worked out differently along the way.

As for Albert, I find myself rather less star-struck now than I have been for a long time by him. I think that the goal of humanizing him in this book was definitely successful, because he feels more like a human being than just a great genius who is sort of untouchable. He had flaws, and he had these moments where he was not nice. Moments where I absolutely hated him. And even though I finished the book a couple of days ago, I find I’m still thinking about the book, and still processing my feelings about Mitza and Albert.

I really enjoyed my time reading this book, and I had a really hard time putting the book down.  I am not normally that into historical fiction, either, so I feel like this book has great appeal across the board.

I was given a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own, and I am never compensated for my reviews.

Leave a Reply

