Review: A Christmas Carol, by Charles Dickens

I grew up watching A Muppet Christmas Carol at Christmas time, and it is still one of my favorite movies in December, so I knew much of the story quite well way before I ever read the book a few years ago.

I wish that I had read this wonderful little story much sooner than I started, though, because it is now a tradition for me to read A Christmas Carol at Christmas time. I love this lovely story of redemption. That even someone as awful as Ebeneezer Scrooge could be redeemed always gives me a lot of Christmas spirit for some reason. Maybe I just need this book to remind me that even Scrooges have soft sides.

373px-Scrooges_third_visitor-John_Leech,1843.jpg
Scrooge’s Third Visitor

I also love the beautiful language Mr. Dickens uses in his descriptions of everything. He brings London to life in this story – even as poor and grim as it often is in this cautionary tale. There was clearly a lot of thought and heart that went into this story, and I think that is why it resonates so much even today.

I’ll be the first to admit that I don’t do well reading most classics, but this is a staple for me. I recommend this book to everyone at Christmas, even if you don’t like classics, because it is one of the most accessible classics I have ever read, with a story that is probably one of the most familiar around.

5 thoughts on “Review: A Christmas Carol, by Charles Dickens

    1. I honestly haven’t watched many others, but I was quite astonished when I read the book, and could picture the movie playing in my head as I went through…and it was quoting the book word for word. I’m so used to children’s adaptations being very different from their original story that I am quite pleased that this old favorite was so true to its origins. And I agree…very high entertainment value, as well. I still always picture those characters as I read it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Disney seems to like to deviate quite a bit from the actual stories, which is pretty disappointing to me. I love their movies still, but now that I know they kind of mangled the stories, I view them somewhat differently.

        I appreciate the Muppets for sticking so closely to the originals.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I have a hoodie that just says “The book was better” in big block letters on the front…I think it’s true 99% of the time (and quite possibly 100% where Disney is concerned)…though I still enjoy the occasional film adaptation 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

