Review: End of Watch, by Stephen King

(If you or someone you know is feeling suicidal or is having suicidal thoughts, I encourage you to reach out and get help. The National Suicide Prevention Lifeline is available 24/7 and is free and confidential. You can call them at 1-800-273-8255 OR you can chat with someone by going to their website HERE. They have lines in Spanish and for the deaf and hard of hearing.)

Stephen King has a way of getting into my head that no other author is capable of. His books make me think, and make me wonder, and almost always make me fear something for some reason. End of Watch is no exception, because even though I know that this book was cooked up from his imagination, he still makes it seem so plausible, that it seemed like it was happening right outside my door at that very moment. And this book has me scared like few books have ever scared me.

This book deals VERY heavily with suicide. Making people commit suicide is Brady’s passion in life, and it is a common theme through much of this book. What I liked was that Stephen King put the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline number right IN the book. He made it part of the story. The man may cook up some sickening and usually politically incorrect stuff, but he also clearly wants to make sure his readers are taken care of. There is an afterword where he talks about it again, with an encouragement to call if you are feeling the desire to hurt yourself.

I am truly sad to see the Bill Hodges Trilogy end. I know, I know…it’s a trilogy…this is the 3rd book…what else can I expect? But I truly love most of these characters (with some notable exceptions), and I am sorry to know that we won’t be seeing more books with them. I am not sorry to see Brady go, though, because there was one part where I had to just close my eyes and collect myself for probably a full minute. A young man had just committed suicide in the book, and when Stephen King writes his characters (even the minor ones) they seem real. This young man seemed as real as if he were in the room with me, and it just got me. That wasn’t the only time I had to just take a minute, but it was the one that hit me the hardest.

I finished this book almost 24 hours ago, but this book is still weighing heavily on my mind, and I am still struggling to find the right words to use in this review. I worry about people out there who may read this book and struggle with the theme of suicide in the book. It is intense and at times a bit graphic, for sure. Therefore, I am not going to recommend this particular book to anyone…I’m just going to say that I recommend caution. Know your limitations with this one. And, as always, if you, or someone you know needs help, please seek it out.

Leave a Reply

