Review: Under Rose-Tainted Skies, by Louise Gornall

I would like to thank Clarion Books and NetGalley for the opportunity to read this book.

I am really excited to have read this book, and I’m even more excited to get to share this book on my blog. I can’t honestly say that I have read a lot of books about mental illness, because honestly, they tend to make my already existing (but generally under control) anxiety act up to an uncomfortable level. But of the books that I have read, this is by far my favorite.

Under Rose-Tainted Skies is about a teenage girl with agoraphobia, OCD and anxiety, as well as a tendency toward some self-harm. I do not personally have experience with agoraphobia, but I have personally experienced anxiety, and I could relate to many things in this book. And while I did have some anxiety while I was reading this book, mostly I was feeling a sort of connection with Norah, because I could relate to so much.

I was pretty much completely sucked into this book. Everything that happened in the book played out in my head like the most vivid movie so that it was less like I was reading a book and more like I was there watching the story play out. I actually would forget that I was reading, and that doesn’t happen to me very often.

This book basically takes place inside of Norah’s house, but there is so much going on with Norah that I barely felt the lack of a change of scenery. She has her illness that she is struggling with, and is in her head a lot. Plus, there is the introduction of Luke, who is a welcome addition to the story.

I recommend this book to everyone…unless it’s going to cause anxiety, of course. I think this book is an important because it gives insight into what life is like with mental illness.

I was given a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own and I am never compensated for my reviews.

Leave a Reply

