Review: If I Stay, by Gayle Forman

I originally read If I Stay almost exactly 2 years ago, and absolutely loved it. I gave it 5 stars back in 2015 and fell in love with the music of Yo-Yo Ma at the same time.

Rereading If I Stay now, I am just as in love with the book, keeping my 5-star rating for it. Nothing about the book is new to me anymore, but I still felt just as invested emotionally in the story of Mia and Adam, and Mia’s family. I felt just as moved by the beauty of the way the words were placed on the pages of the book by Gayle Forman.

This is a book that will take your emotions for a ride and leave you feeling worn at the end of it. But even when this book makes me hurt, all I want is to keep going back for more. To keep reading about these characters who feel like friends who I am watching go through the hardest day of their lives. And that was no less true this second time around for me. I have a feeling it will still prove true when I read it again the next time.

I found that listening to Yo-Yo Ma while I read really added something special to my reading experience, as well. He is a pretty big deal in this book, as he is mentioned several times throughout the book, among other musicians (he is the most referenced), and just listening to the artist and the songs that are referenced throughout the book really enhanced my reading.

Leave a Reply

