Review: We Were the Lucky Ones, by Georgia Hunter

I would like to thank Penguin Group Viking and NetGalley for the opportunity to read this book. 

I was really intrigued by this book when it came across in an email from NetGalley with the option to read it. Ever since I first read The Diary of a Young Girl, by Anne Frank, I have felt a need to read the stories of those who lived (and died) during the time of the Nazis. What I honestly did not realize when I started reading this book, and in fact did not understand until I got to the afterword by the author, was that We Were the Lucky Ones is based on the true story of her family and their experiences during World War II and with the Nazi regime.

I am giving this book 5 stars because it is extremely well-written and had me on the edge of my seat more times than I can count now. It did take me some time to be able to keep all of the different family members straight, but every single one of them quickly became a person who I could visualize with no problem, and I was tortured many a time while wondering what their fates would be as they faced the many challenges they came up against during the near decade that they were persecuted for their religion. And this was all while I did not yet understand that they were, in fact, actual people and not just a representation of what happened to so many.

Georgia Hunter does a tremendous job in this book of bringing her family’s combined stories to life. She talks in the afterword of the research and time that went into the writing of this book, and that very clearly shines through when reading this book. I especially appreciated the fact that sprinkled throughout the chapters there were dated facts that were relevant to the story, which put things into even more glaring (and sometimes frightening) context.

I recommend this book to history lovers, but also to anyone who is concerned about the political climate in America right now. I also recommend having tissues close if/when you read this book, because I found myself feeling very emotionally invested, and at times that certainly involved quite a few tears.

I was given a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own, and I am never compensated for my reviews.

Leave a Reply

