Review: I See You, by Clare Mackintosh

I would like to thank Berkley Publishing Group and NetGalley for the opportunity to read this book.

As a female, I was raised with words of caution that I always needed to do certain things to look out for myself, such as not going into certain parts of town alone after dark, or even alone at all. That I should carry my purse with its strap across my chest so that it is harder for someone to take it from me. That I always needed to keep an eye on what was going on around me and be aware of who and what is going on around me. I’ve even heard that it is not a good idea to get into the habit of following a routine for too long because someone could use that against you.

As a female who has been raised with these cautionary words ringing in my ears my whole life, I found this book to be the literary version of one of my worst nightmares come to life. In I See You, women who get into routines and follow that same comfortable routine on their way to work every day become the prey of men who may or may not have nefarious plans for them. And suddenly what used to be comfortable and familiar is frightening for the MC, Zoe Walker.

I distrusted almost every single male in this book by the end. I cannot think of another book where I have suspected so many different characters during the course of the story. Just when I was absolutely sure that I had figured it out, I would suddenly be absolutely sure that his next person was the bad guy, and off I would go again. And honestly, I loved every single minute. My blood was pounding and I was completely anxious for hours at a time while reading this book, but I was THERE…I was there on the Tube while Zoe was scared of everyone, and in her house, while she discussed things with her family. I was there with the police while they did their jobs.

I was able to experience this frightening story from the safety of my home, and I learned a lot. I got that (probably much needed) reminder that falling into a comfortable routine on one’s commute to work or school is not a good idea. As I’ve always been told, it’s best to mix it up with different times and different routes. Don’t make it easy for someone to take a shine to wanting to hurt you. Because while PROBABLY nothing will ever happen, who’s to know?

I’m giving this 5 stars because I really, really loved this book. I was emotionally invested and I lost myself in the story for what must have been hours on end without even realizing that time was passing.

I was given a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own and I am never compensated for my reviews.

2 thoughts on “Review: I See You, by Clare Mackintosh

Leave a Reply

