Thoughts on 1984, by George Orwell

I may be wrong, but I think this is the first time I have given a star rating of higher than three stars to a classic book. I’m pretty sure it is the first time this year that I have done so, anyway. I actually really enjoyed this book, but I’m giving it four stars because there was a whole section where it took me about 3 days just to get through that section, and I only did because I sat down and really pushed myself to read through it.

1984 was required reading for me in high school at one point, and I know that I did not particularly understand or enjoy it back then. Present me kind of wants to go back and slap some sense into younger me, while at the same time also understanding that I had a lot of the world yet to see to get to where I am now so that I DO understand the book. And, honestly, I don’t think that I even understand everything there is to understand about the book.

This is definitely one of those books that I would be completely willing to go and read essays and other writings that other people have written about it so that I could try and get to the deeper meaning of the whole book. And then go back and read the book AGAIN so that I could read the book with that deeper understanding in my head. I know that this second time around reading the book is not my last time reading the book. Probably far from it.

I recommend this book as essential reading for a couple of reasons. 1) The current political climate. I think we should all educate ourselves on how bad it can be (even through fiction…it’s still education) so that hopefully we can prevent that from becoming a reality. 2) It’s a classic, and it’s good to read the classics. I think that books stick around as classics for a reason.

5 thoughts on “Thoughts on 1984, by George Orwell

    1. I will pick that one up next. I actually saw it recently, and almost did pick it up, but decided not to simply because I didn’t know enough about what it was about, and I didn’t have enough time to read the description or look into it on Goodreads. Now I know for the future and will just grab it.

      Like

  1. I posted a comment about this book on another blog post recently and would absolutely recommend it. I was commenting on reading books more advanced for reading age and whether that is beneficial or not. I revisited from reading at school and found I understood/enjoyed it a lot more

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I understand why they have high school kids read it, but I feel as if most kids that age do not probably really get as much out of it as is intended. Hopefully, though, many of them do revisit it as adults and get more out of it as we did, because it is definitely a worthy read.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

