Review: Shatter Me, by Tahereh Mafi

I just finished reading Shatter Me, and I’m writing this review right away while my thoughts and feelings are fresh, but I have to admit that I’m feeling a little bit conflicted. One the one hand, I really enjoyed the story, but at the same time, there was so little story floating amongst all the romance between Adam and Juliette. Admittedly, I don’t read a lot of romance, but I also don’t necessarily mind a little romance in the books that I read. In Shatter Me, though, it feels as if it goes a little bit overboard – such as when they’re running for their lives and they have to stop to make out for a moment. We get it…you’re glad to be together, but save that for when you’re actually safe, okay??

And then there are the analogies that are scattered throughout the book. In my opinion, they could have been edited out, and nobody reading the book would have missed them. I actually spent a couple of minutes puzzling over this one:

His gaze is fixed on me: calm, unflappable; 2 buckets of river water at midnight. I’d like to cry into his eyes.

Say what now?? Don’t get me wrong…the analogies are visually striking, but sometimes, such as with that one, the mental picture that comes up is more puzzling than it’s worth.

As I said before, I enjoyed the story. I absolutely love dystopian stories, and I am going to immediately move on to Unravel Me not only because I got these books out from the library, but also because Shatter Me was a quick read, and hopefully the next one will be as well. My rating of 4 stars MAY change down to 3.5 or 3 in the next couple days as I ponder my feelings about this book, though. I have just enough issues with the book that I don’t quite feel solid in my rating yet, but I always try to rate books right away with my gut feeling.

Leave a Reply

