It’s Monday! What are you reading? #2

Its Monday What Are You Reading GWB

This book meme comes from The Book Date. The idea is that you can share what you have been, are and are planning to read, as well as share your link to your post on their blog and find the blog posts of others who have also linked up. A great way to find new bookish blogs.

What I Read Last Week GWB

Man-Eater by Harold Schechter
Man-Eater by Harold Schechter

I only finished one book this past week, and it was Man-Eater: The Life and Legend of an American Cannibal by Harold Schechter. My review of this audiobook can be found HERE.

What I'm Reading Now GWB

 

Remember When Nora Roberts JD Robb
Remember When by Nora Roberts / JD Robb

 

Remember When is a two-part book written by Nora Roberts as herself and her pen name, J.D. Robb. The first half is set in contemporary times and is typical probably of Nora Roberts’ usual fare. The second half is a continuation, apparently, of the first half, but in the future time of Eve Dallas, and it is #17.5 from the In Death series. So far, I am still reading the first part, but it is pretty good. I’m not a big fan of contemporary romance, so the going has been a bit slow, but I’m sticking it out to get to the second part.

 

Furiously Happy Jenny Lawson
Furiously Happy by Jenny Lawson

 

Furiously Happy is a collection of essays about Jenny Lawson’s personal experience with mental illness. As she makes sure to stress in the book, everyone experiences mental illness differently, but this is her experience. She talks about making an effort to live “furiously happy” and how she copes with, lives with, and sometimes just puts up with her mental illness. This book is hilarious but also touches on some more serious notes, which is a good balance, and I think an important addition to allow a more complete picture of what it is like to live with a mental illness.

Up Next GWB

At this time, I have no real plans for what is up next. I’m taking it a little bit easy on my book bingo boards and just marking squares as I happen to read books that fit. Some weeks, this section will be like that, because I often don’t stick very well to a plan for reading anyway.

6 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading? #2

  1. Sounds like a good reading week for you! I have been wanting to read Furiously Happy ever since it came out – sounds like a really great read.
    Hope you will consider joining my Big Book Summer Challenge this summer – you only need to read one book of 400+ pages to join the fun! Enjoy your books this week –
    Sue
    2017 Big Book Summer Challenge

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Furiously Happy is awesome! I, too, had been wanting to read it since it came out, and I finally am because it fits the category on another challenge. I wish I’d have read it sooner, though, honestly!

      I will definitely take a look at your challenge when I am back at my computer! Thank you for the invite!

      Like

  2. Remember When is one of my favorites since it links up the two “sides” of Nora Roberts. I just listened to Furiously Happy earlier this year. Now I want to go back and listen to her first book.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

