What’s the Opposite of a Reading Slump?

Everyone’s heard of the reading slump…but what is the term for having TOO MANY books going at one time? My eyes got bigger than my ability to actually read this week, as I tried to start reading SIX books at a time. Talk about feeling the strain, guys. I didn’t actually ever start two of them, and returned them to the library tonight. But I DO have four books going right now.

In addition to the three books that I discussed that I’m currently reading in my It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? #3 post on Monday, I also added on Ready Player One by Ernest Cline, in anticipation of the movie coming out soon.

I’m working my way through Ready Player One pretty quickly, but the other three books have been slow going because I’ve been reading three books at the same time. Progress on those is even slower now that I’m focused so much on Ready Player One. It is getting to the point where I’m getting bored with the other three books, and I’m going to have to start just systematically reading them one at a time until I finish them and clear out my “currently reading” queue.

I really would be okay if there weren’t so many good books out there to read…and if I could stay awake reading in bed for more than 5 minutes before falling asleep in my book. Such problems to have…

Leave a Reply

