Review: Ready Player One, by Ernest Cline

gwb-4-hearts

I think I learned more about pop and gaming culture than I have learned in my whole life just by reading Ready Player One. My personal thinking is that Ernest Cline must have searched for and added every pop culture reference that he could while still making the storyline feasible.

The beginning of this book was a bit shaky to me and felt less well done and more like it was written just to set the stage for the 80’s theme and the placement of pop culture references. It didn’t take very far into the book, though, before I was genuinely pretty hooked, and enjoying myself. And this is coming from someone who pretty much went into the book with the idea that it was not going to be that great a fit for me, based on other reviews I’ve seen in the past.

There actually was a pretty solid storyline, for the most part, and the character development was really solid, in my opinion. And I think that the idea of something like the Oasis is not outside the realm of possibility of actually existing. And while HOPEFULLY we’d never pile trailers and RVs on top of each other, global warming is a real issue, and so the food shortages and weather problems presented in the book are probably not that far outside the realm of possibility either. To me, that made the book both a bit relatable but also a bit alarming, because it felt like I could be reading about our possible future.

Overall, a fun read, especially when I recognized the games and shows and whatnot being referenced in the book. Especially with the movie coming out soon, definitely worth a read.

 

7 thoughts on “Review: Ready Player One, by Ernest Cline

    1. I may be the wrong person to ask, because I (at least originally…I haven’t done a reread lately) liked Twilight. 😉 But no, I think it has a genuinely good plot, and I know I’m not alone on that. It has a ton to do with classic gaming, so especially if you’re at all into that, you’ll probably like it. But there are a lot of other great references, and not just from the 80’s.

      My favorite part was looking up songs and stuff on YouTube…it felt interactive, and introduced me to a lot of things, as well as reminded me of a lot of things I had forgotten from my childhood.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think I would love that, an interactive book! I might have to really check it out. Thanks for your response, because it really pushed me over the edge from maybe to probably. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

